Deep Rivers- Arguedas

I found that the novel ‘Deep Rivers’ by Arguedas was a little intimidating to read as it being set in Peruvian Andes emphasizes on the social injustices faced by different races, cultures and customs; racial inequality, colonisation and feelings of discrimination and injustice. To be honest, I was also a little confused at the beginning of the novel but as I read further it started becoming clear as to what the author was trying to convey through the eyes of the protagonist, Ernesto.

Ernesto grew up in a mixed culture and when he was sent to a Catholic boarding school, we could see that he was battling inner conflicts as he found himself a misfit in that society which prioritised the wealthy individuals and so he couldn’t enjoy the privileges enjoyed by them. I think that this book also made me feel a little emotional as I felt sad for Ernesto for feeling lonely and a misfit as nobody deserves to feel that way.

This novel really brought out a mix of emotions. I believe that such feelings as felt by Ernesto are reflective of many children growing up in lower socioeconomic status than others or coming from different backgrounds or cultures. It kind of indicates that we as a community should come together to provide a nurturing, stable and enhancing environment for children as it plays a really crucial role in their development in the future.

I found that nature was a central theme of this novel as at the beginning of the novel, Ernesto seems keen towards the cedron tree which he described it as a ‘low tree with shabby branches, shedding its fragrance all over the courtyard of the Old Man’s hacienda. He further says that ‘the little tree showed white scars on its trunk, where the children must have made a martyr of it,’ reflects the way he thought about the children and how the tree seems to conform and sympathise with the children as if the tree is a person providing social support in times of need. Later, he also says that the tree seemed to comfort him. For him, nature was all about seeking comfort and solace whenever he didn’t feel good.

What intrigued me the most was how he was a keen observer and paid such detailed attention to the architecture of not just Cuzco but also the Old Man’s house. Overall, I felt that this novel is a coming-of-age story reflecting the injustices and insecurities still faced by some people be it children, men or women of a particular race or colour in some if not all areas of the world.

Discussion Question

How important do we think nature is in our lives and what role does it play in shaping our personalities?


3 responses to “Deep Rivers- Arguedas”

  1. I really liked that you mentioned the role of the community in the education of children. It is quite difficult to identify Ernesto’s place in the communities in which he lives. But, on the other hand, that seems to give him a space of freedom that others do not have, precisely because of his nomadic nature.

    Like

  2. Great analysis! to answer your question, I think that nature, or the lack there of, plays an important role in shaping your personality. As someone who grew up in a lot of forest, I think that being able to run around in the trees and see a lot of wildlife gave me an appreciation for the natural world that I would not have gotten if I grew up in the concrete jungle of the city

    Like

  3. I really like how you mentioned nature to be a central theme of this book, especially since I haven’t really given much thought to this idea. I think it is very interesting how Ernesto manages to find comfort in nature particularly because this idea of forming a connection with nature feels quite distant.

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started